First Impressions

These notes are fairly old by now, they are from my first day at a state primary school in my city in Germany. If I’m not mistaken, my first day was two weeks ago, on Wednesday, May 18th.

I wrote down these notes as the day went on, into my little notebook….

  • immediate reminder as to why I love my job
  • 30 children in one class are A LOT esp. when you are only one teacher
  • my colleagues seem so nice, helpful and relaxed
  • milk in schools? really???
  • first-grade teachers are amazing
My first day went by so quickly. Since then I have learnt about half of the names I should know. I am team teaching (all classes are supposed to be taught in team) in grades 1, 2 and 3. In grades 2 and 3 I primarily teach English and in 2a I do a lot of support in small groups.
I love it. But the impressions of the first day, have also been replaced by more reflective, more obvious criticism.
One thought on “First Impressions

Leave a Reply

