Education and Technology?

This morning I woke up and thought: Why do people make such a big deal about technology?
I ask myself that, because it is so much part of my life, it is “natural” to me.

Shouldn’t we just accept technology into our classrooms just like we accept books, maths manipulatives, and playdough in kindergarten?

Why is it that schools do not reflect “real life” anymore? How come schools lack so far behind? Is it really the teachers who do not use technology? I doubt it!

Just some thoughts this morning, but I will make it my mission to “naturally” deal with technology this year, to authentically integrate what I integrate into my everyday life anyway. And to help anyone who wants to do so as well! Yes!

Happy Saturday!

6 thoughts on “Education and Technology?

  1. I agree! Here’s an extract from an ICT plan we’re working on at my school…

    Teachers will understand that:

    • Technology is an integral part of learning.
    • Integration of technology is not optional.
    • Each teacher needs to take responsibility for their own ICT learning and that of their students.
    • Literacy today includes technological literacy as well as the traditional literacies such as reading and writing.
    • Implementation of technology should always be driven by learning requirements.

    • Thanks for your comment, Enda, and for sharing this extract! It makes perfect sense to me! Do you mind if I keep this and maybe present it should the opportunity arise?

      It is shocking how most discussion makes technology still seem optional and separate!

  2. Hi!
    No need to say I agree completly with what you are writing. At ISM we all believe in the importance of technology in education, this is the reason why we don’t teach ICT as a separate subject. Still I also think we all could do more – and make it as natural as it should be. If we are really preparing our students for the future, I am sure they will be skyping frequently at work – just to mention one example.

  3. Hi!
    No need to say I agree completly with what you are writing. At ISM we all believe in the importance of technology in education, this is the reason why we don’t teach ICT as a separate subject. Still I also think we all could do more – and make it as natural as it should be. If we are really preparing our students for the future, I am sure they will be skyping frequently at work – just to mention one example.

  4. Hi!
    No need to say I agree completly with what you are writing. At ISM we all believe in the importance of technology in education, this is the reason why we don’t teach ICT as a separate subject. Still I also think we all could do more – and make it as natural as it should be. If we are really preparing our students for the future, I am sure they will be skyping frequently at work – just to mention one example.

Leave a Reply

