What do you do on….

…your birthday in class?

Today is my 29th birthday. As millions of teachers are already enjoying Easter break, we have four days to go. Not that I mind, I love what I do.

However, all weekend I was wondering what to do on my birthday in class. Anything special? In Germany it is quite custom to bring a treat for your colleagues and possibly your students too. We did anyway at my old school in Berlin. But in Italy, by law, we cannot bring anything home-baked, etc in without a list of ingredients. Then there is a vegetarian (no eggs) student, a lactose-intolerant students and me, who doesn’t add sugar to anything at the moment. Out of 11 people!

So, I am going to ignore my birthday, like every year, and hope that we get through the day without too much. I shall enjoy a lot of quality portfolio work this morning though.

5 thoughts on “What do you do on….

  1. Happy Birthday! Mine is the day before and I turned 29 as well. I planned on ignoring mine as well (I have a daughter who turned three about 2 weeks prior with a well planned family extravaganza!) but got to school on the Monday and was pleasantly surprised to get cards, hand-made cupcakes and gifts. I was embarassed but very touched 🙂

Leave a Reply

