ICT in the PYP

I have been using more and more ICT in my classroom. Our resources remain quite limited, but we have found a way to work through that.

Now all students in my class are equipped with their own Google account, so we can email, and use Google Documents. The response to this has been enthusiastic, and the students are improving their ICT skills all the time. I have gotten so many emails that show learning and engagement that I didn’t ask for. It is nice.

The unit of inquiry now, Life Cycles, has led us to search for images and video, send images, make our own images. We will also use VoiceThread later on in the unit, especially for their summative assessment task.

I love the way that technology has enabled us to do more. Now, how do I get everyone else to do it too?

2 thoughts on “ICT in the PYP

  1. I’ve only just joined an IB school this year and I absolutely love doing the units of inquiry – but as you said in one of your posts with limited class time you can’t always get into the really deep inquiry. So if you don’t mind me asking – how did you introduce Google Docs to your students – they look young (I have Year 5s who are about 10years old on average). Is it something that they’ve learnt from early on or did you introduce it to them this year in class? I’d really like to use it with my students but have no idea where to start and don’t want to completely confuse them! Thanks 🙂

    • Hi Sarah,
      Thanks for your comments.
      Google Docs was just introduced. They got their email accounts just now and I introduced it linking it to Office, which they know.
      I showed them how to log on and we moved on from there. Try it!

Leave a Reply

