What should my classroom look like? PYP Classroom design

The wonderful thing about a long Christmas break is that you can wind down and new ideas will come to you. I have a lot of them, but one I struggle with, and one that obviously needs attention, is the classroom design.

I am not talking the contents as much as the physical design at the moment, but have had a look at a few interesting bits and pieces on the net on what a PYP classroom should look like.

This graphic in particular caught my attention:

Well, while I believe I have most of these things present and obvious in my classroom, there seems to be one point that all those documents and all the people discussion PYP Classroom design agree on:

  • The classroom needs to be flexible
  • Students and teachers need to have access to a variety of resources
  • The classroom needs to allow for a grouping and regrouping

At the moment my classroom, which is small, is laid out more or less like this:

The room is just this rectangular, boring shape, very small. We manage with 11 students in there, but we know it could be better (have I mentioned that we are moving soon?)

Right now I have three group tables, one PC table and two shelves. One divides the room a little.

For the new term I want something different. I won’t go too far, due to the move, but I want to change something that I can use with my class. I like having 3 group tables because it allows for flexibility. Students do not have a fixed spot in class, we regroup all the time. The students in my class are 8 to 9 years old!

What would you do? Any ideas?

8 thoughts on “What should my classroom look like? PYP Classroom design

  1. Move the teacher desk near the PC.
    Put both shelves face to face in the back.
    You can also the table in 2 so everyone faces the board…er :p

    [s] window [s]
    O
    O O
    [d]
    [pc] door carpet

Leave a Reply

