The Story of my class 2009-10 (Part 1)

This year I want to write the story of my class. I started a personal account and this is my anonymous blogging attempt, where I can share the information and adventures of my school year.

In my class the students and I work alongside. We support and learn from each other.

I want to start this story with an introduction of the class, before the class starts. I have worked with most of the children for a whole year already, and this will be an advantage. But they will have grown and changed over the summer. Family situations may have changed, their friends may have moved, or left the school. They may have had experiences, positive or negative, that had a fundamental effect on them. The children may now have a brother or sister at school, or they may have traveled to places that changed them.
And then there will be new children. They may be threatening to them in a way, or they may be a new friend.

I am glad that my school is very welcoming. The school community is small, with a student population of around 50, ranging from 3 year-olds to 12 year-olds. We even have three students who attend Middle School. New students are welcomed and usually feel at home very soon.

This first part will inevitably, be my reflection of what I know about my existing students from the last year.

In the last academic year I joined an international school in Italy. The school only has a primary school, teaching the Primary Years Programme. Moreover, two students that attended the school were Middle School children who were taught separately in most cases.

I took over a mixed-age class of 7 and 8 year-olds. We call them Year 2/3.

I started with nine students. One of them quickly left the school, although the reasons are still unclear to me. There was previous tension between the management and the family.

A new student joined in October, a girl who had just moved to Italy from India, for two years.

My youngest student left the class after Christmas, returning home to Switzerland. It was a sad moment, because the class had seen her grow from the small, shy and withdrawn girl who didn’t speak a word of English, into a confident and happy girl who was a fully integrated and participating member of the class.

We started the new year (the second term) with only eight students, but grew again after our Easter break, when siblings, a boy and a girl, from New Zealand joined us.

So, as we wrapped up the year in June, change had been present all the time.

During the last year, students from Italy, Germany, Switzerland, England, China, Spain/France/Italy, the US, India and New Zealand were learning together with me, a teacher from Germany.

The members of my class were Catholic, Hindu, Muslim, and atheist.

As you can see, that is quite diverse for a small class.

Leave a Reply

